Interview with author Penelope Crowe

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Penelope Crowe, author of the compelling short story, ABSORBED, and welcome her to my blog. Welcome Penelope!

Penelope Crowe, author photograph

Q: ABSORBED has such a strong female character, Violet, as its protagonist, who, while multi-faceted, may be seen as being a sociopath of sorts. What inspired you to write this story, and create such a memorable central character in Violet?

A: The story started with the gift, something magical and mysterious, something I wished I would find on my doorstep. The gift was connected to dreams and wishes, and things we hope to come true. Yet as I wrote I could feel it go dark. Nothing is that wonderful, and sometimes it seems to me that nothing good comes without a price. So I created Mick. Mick pulled the rug of joy out from the protagonist’s life. I did not want him to be able to do that, so Violet had some help. The story went in a direction that surprised even me. I had no outline. I just wrote–fast. I think everything I write is slightly autobiographical, and this story pulled some anger from me that I wanted to vent–safely. I did not view her as a sociopath–I viewed her as a victim–for a while.

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A: I remember in fifth grade I was out of school with a bug and when I came back someone had read my red smiley-face notebook from Spencer Gifts and passed it around to everyone in the class. I had stories, ideas, pictures, and a list of everyone in the class with my personal rating system of them all. It did NOT go over well–but that did not stop me from writing. My parents have a pic of me at three with a marker in my hand writing on a carboard box. I have been writing books since I can remember. So the answer is forever–but I have only been published since October.

Q: What are your favorite book genres?

A:I love horror, psychological fiction, medical fiction and non-fiction, memoirs, hmmmm. Not fond of sports. Or romance right now…

Q: Which are your favorite authors or books?

A: I love the books Like Water for Chocolate, Let the Right One In, Shop Girl, The Screwtape Letters, almost anything by Stephen King or Steve Martin, the children’s book The Celery Stalks at Midnight, Book of Lost Things, Coraline, Alice in Wonderland, yikes, I could go forever…

Q: Do you have any favorite hobbies or pastimes?

A: Love to go to the movies, especially horror movies, and finding great places to eat. I love art. Love to see it at museums and just be around it. I like to buy it too. My friend recently sent me a pic of a painting that reminded her of my story Absorbed, so I am going to buy it. MoMA recently had a Tim Burton exhibit and it was so good I did not want to leave. I love studying the dark side of humanity.

Q: What are your favorite TV shows?

A: My favorite is the Big Bang Theory…they all remind me of some guys I went to school with. I like American Horror Story, but I don’t like the fact that it is in a series that will lose its continuity if I miss one show.

Q: Have you any other projects which you would like to discuss?

A: I just finished a children’s book, second in the Out of This World series called Penelope’s Garden and the Rhyming Witch. Now I just need to do the illustrations. I write under the name Dea Lenihan for the kid’s books. Finishing another kid’s book with author David Rowinski, and giving 100 Unfortunate Days a new cover, intro page, and warning in the beginning of the book. A few people claim to have been haunted since reading it. You can read about that on my blog–it is the current post. www.penelopecrowe.blogspot.com

I’m sure everyone will join me in thanking Penelope for her time today, and look forward to seeing more of her works in the future.

If you would like to contact Penelope, she is available on:

*Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/penelopecrowe

*Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5253395.Penelope_Crowe

*Her blog address is www.penelopecrowe.blogspot.com

*Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Penelope-Crowes-Books-and-Stories/281707518521278

-Penelope’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers:

ABSORBED by Penelope Crowe

100 UNFORTUNATE DAYS by Penelope Crowe

THE MOON IS NO PLACE FOR A GHOST by Dea Lenihan

7 thoughts on “Interview with author Penelope Crowe

Leave a Reply

