Interview with author Coral Russell

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Coral Russell, author of the suspenseful short story KEY TO A HAUNTING, and welcome her to my blog. Welcome Coral!

Alchemy of Scrawl – author Coral Russell’s blog

Q: As a reader, I found that KEY TO A HAUNTING had such a seamless interweaving between both its contemporary, and flashback scenes. Was there an inspiration derived from real life which led you to write the story?

A: Thank you and yes! My husband was impressed with the Shirtwaist Fire in New York City. His challenge for me was to write a story that incorporated those ghosts.

Q: For how many long have you been writing?

A: I’ve been writing non-fiction for years but fiction just a little over a year. It was a big leap, but I’m getting the hang of it and I like well-researched fiction stories, so my background will come in handy.

Q: I am aware from myself that it is not easy to always stick to a strict writing regimen, due to the demands of life. Do you have a writing regimen which works for you?

A: I try to do a daily word count no matter when. I make it easy and I’m kind of a lazy writer.

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: I’m an eclectic reader and like pretty much anything EXCEPT epic fantasy. Not real big on that.

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: Stephen King because I was a huge horror fan growing up and Emily Holly because she posted some books about writing and that gave me someplace to start.

Q: What are your favorite TV shows, from either the past, or programs still on the air?

A: Dark Shadows (I’m watching all the episodes on Netflix now). I just finished X-files and Roswell. I have Warehouse 13 and a couple of others. It’s good background noise for when I’m writing.

Q: Do you have any hobbies you love to participate in?

A: GAMING!! I gave away a little over 2 years of my life to Final Fantasy 11 and I still have a nice list of games to finish.

Q: Do you have any other writing projects which you would like to mention?

A: Well to clarify – Key to a Haunting and Devil of a Ghost Tour are only available in the anthology Playing with Fire and a novella with the same characters is Amador Lockdown. Also the DIY Guide to Social Media Marketing and eBook Publishing and a short story in Twelve Worlds. Peace on the Peninsula is my experiences researching North and South Korea.

I am certain that everyone will join me in thanking Coral today for her time, and that we look forward to reading more of her works in the future.

If you wish to contact Coral, she is available on:

*Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/alchemyofscrawl

*Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4240208.Coral_Russell

*Facebook page – http://facebook.com/alchemyofscrawl

*Her blog address is: http://alchemyofscrawl.bookbloggerscollaborative.com/

Coral’s books are only available on Amazon. Key to a Haunting is only available in the anthology PLAYING WITH FIRE. Her books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

PLAYING WITH FIRE by Coral Russell

AMADOR LOCKDOWN by Coral Russell

PEACE ON THE PENINSULA by Coral Russell

THE DIY GUIDE TO SOCIAL MEDIA MARKETING AND EBOOK PUBLISHING by Coral Russell

TWELVE WORLDS Science Fiction and Fantasy Anthology Contains Short Story ‘Cube’ by Coral Russell

4 thoughts on “Interview with author Coral Russell

  1. Great interview, Coral! It’s nice to see you on this side for a change. BTW – I’ve learned to trust my husbands thoughts when it comes to writing. It sounds like you have too! Many congratulations on your success. It couldn’t happen to a nicer person.

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

