Interview with author Sarah Baethge

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Sarah Baethge, author of the young adult science fiction fantasy story THE SPEED OF DARKNESS, and welcome her to my blog. Welcome Sarah!

Sarah Baethge, author photograph

Q. From my experience of reading THE SPEED OF DARKNESS, I was struck by the low-key, breezy humor which the book possessed, which added to the book’s appeal, setting it apart from other werewolf-themed stories. What inspired you to write this particular story?

A: I had recently been hurt and so was stuck at home for recovery, and out of boredom I began writing out a collection of my random thoughts and attempted to shape them into a story.

Q. For how many long have you been writing? Has it been a life-long passion, or something you discovered at a certain point in your life?

A: Before I wrote the book I’d never seriously written anything before, but I always enjoyed making up stories. Even after I had declared the book ‘finished’ I just filed it away on my computer for a time and did nothing with it. What finally got me to try publishing it was one day on Twitter I saw someone talking about http://www.iwritereadrate.com/ a store for self-published books to gain reviews. In fact that encouraged me to try writing a couple more short sci-fi/fantasy stories that are still there. The Speed of Darkness wasn’t selling so I moved it to Amazon and Smashwords and eventually Goodreads. It has only had minimal advertising and I know it’s badly self-drawn cover doesn’t help it, but with no money spent on it I’m somewhat proud of the sales that I’ve made.

Q: You had a serious car accident in your freshman year of college, and events such as these can be life-changing. Did this event change your perception of life as it was for you, and what you wanted to achieve in life?

A: That car wreck may have been something of a blessing; I’m not sure I would have ever felt I had enough free time to attempt writing a novel without it. Before the wreck, I always planned to finish college, but now I so enjoy writing and attempting to review novels at http://sarahsreadings.wordpress.com/, I’m not sure I will ever go back.

Q: Do you have a writing regimen which works for you?

A: I try not to seriously write until after lunch; because I found while writing The Speed of Darkness, that if I took no breaks, I could frustrate myself into nearly giving up on the story. Just the same, I nearly force myself to write something every day after lunch. I’ve found that trying to take any more than a weekend long break inevitably kills whatever story I was working on.

Q: Do you have any book genres which you love to read?

A:I love to read Science fiction, and just about anything fantasy or paranormal.

Q: Have you any favorite books and authors been influential upon you and your writing you would like to talk about?

A: I like Michael Crichton and Stephen King.

Q: What are your favorite TV shows, from either the past, or still on the air?

A: Star Trek and The Mentalist.

Q: Do you have any other hobbies you love to participate in?

A: Reading, watching movies, and attempting to study languages that don’t use the English alphabet.

Q: Are there any other upcoming writing projects which you would like to discuss?

A: Right now I’m playing with a flash-fiction prequel to The Speed of Darkness.

Thank you for interviewing me.

I am certain that everyone will join me in thanking Sarah today for her time, and that we look forward to reading more of her works in the future.

If you wish to contact Sarah, she is available on:

*Twitter – http://twitter.com/22niel

*Goodreads –  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5226644.Sarah_Baethge

*Facebook page for THE SPEED OF DARKNESS –http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Speed-of-Darkness-by-Sarah-Baethge/247661878624972

*Her blog address is: http://sarahsreadings.wordpress.com/

*Sarah also has a less updated blog here: http://sarahbaethge.blogspot.com/

-Sarah’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

THE SPEED OF DARKNESS by Sarah Baethge

BREAKING AWAY by Sarah Baethge

Leave a Reply

