Interview with author Luis Vera

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Luis Vera, author of the novels THE HORROR SUICIDE SHOW and DIARY OF A MADMAN, and welcome him to my blog. Welcome Luis!

LUIS VERA, author photograph

Q: Have any life experiences lead you to write your books?

A: Not really. I had always been interested in reading and writing, early in my life. What pushed me to publish stories, was a bad relationship. I wrote one story and let her read it. Worst critique ever. Told me I couldn’t write and I was wasting my time. Then I won a small contest online with a similar story and I’ve been hooked ever since. Oh, and she’s gone.

Q: Have you been writing for a long time?

A: I’ve been a “Writer” for little over two years. I have some stuff I’ve written when I was younger, but I don’t count that stuff.

Q: Are there any other people who have influenced you in your writing?

A: I’m a huge fan of self published work. Heath Lowrance, Paul D. Brazill, Julia Madeleine and K. A. Laity have been my heroes for a while now. I’ve been trying to read everything they’ve written. I’m actually lucky to finally have two of them blogging for me on A Knife And A Quill.

Q: Do you have a writing program which works for you for whatever you’re writing at the moment?

A: My writing program consists of writing whenever I can. I’ve written some of my pieces on cell phone.

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: I like speculative fiction. I happen to write lots of “Twilight Zone” type stories and find the genre very appealing. I don’t like horror as much as I write it, too much unnecessary violence, sex and gore. I think it’s hard to find a good horror writer out there and so I rarely venue into that genre at all. But I do love a good serial killer story.

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: Jeff Lindsey’s Dexter series is good, so is the tv show. I use to love anything by Stephen King – like the Gunslinger, The Eyes of The Dragon – but I can’t really get into his newer stuff. I also love Kurt Vonnegut. Slaughter House Five is one of the best books ever written. Besides that I always suggest people read 13 Clocks by James Thurber. It’s the only book I own that I’ve read countless times.

Q: Your books mainly revolve around themes of violence, combined with cynicism and black humor thrown in for good measure. Are explorations of violence something which has interested you for some time, or, from a certain stage of life?

A: I have a violent mind I guess. I try to keep many thoughts like that to myself, but it turns out people like to read about them. Diary of a Madman was an idea I had for a long time. A man, who’s torn from his mind, writes to keep his life in check but all he ends up doing is killing more people. There’s just something about death that fascinates me.

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, from either the past, or still on the air?

A: I have tons. I don’t have cable, so I get all my TV from the internet or DVDs. It’s better this way, cable’s for suckers. 🙂 I love British humor, it’s dark and twisted and you can’t find that in the U.S. of A. Too many babies here. But The League of Gentleman is awesome, so is The Misfits and the I.T. Crowd. I love Red Dwarf and Spaced, pretty much anything with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.

In the U.S. I like The Office, I’m recently addicted to Game of Thrones, and The Community. And The Twilight Zone. I can watch that for hours, and I love it when they have a Twilight Zone marathon, its awesomeness.

Q: Do you have any hobbies you love to participate in?

A: I love working out and recently decided to start training to be on American Ninja Warrior. Sounds funny as hell when I type it, but I love working out. I use to be this nerdy skinny kid with sticks for arms and legs and now I can knock out pull-ups like a madman and squat like a bodybuilder. So maybe in a year or two, you’ll see me on TV breaking my ankle on one of the obstacles. Should still be fun as hell to try.

Q: Do you have any other writing projects which you would like to mention?

A: The Monolith. It’s like this huge project I’ve been working on for a couple of months. I’ve gotten 25 fans apply to be actually in the story. And it’s great. When I’m done it will be free, just like any of my serial fiction. I can’t wait to finish this baby.

I am certain that everyone will join me in thanking Luis today for his time, and that we look forward to reading more of his works in the future.

If you wish to contact Luis, he is available on:

*Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/LVeraWrites

*DeviantArt – http://www.lverawrites.deviantart.com/

*Facebook page – http://www.facebook.com/LVeraWritesFanPage

*His website is – http://lverawrites.wordpress.com/ and http://aknifeandaquill.wordpress.com/

*Luis’ Amazon author page – http://www.amazon.com/L.-Vera/e/B007IV8K92/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Luis’ books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

THE HORROR SUICIDE SHOW by Luis Vera

DIARY OF A MADMAN by Luis Vera

BURNING BRIDGES: A RENEGADE FICTION ANTHOLOGY (Luis Vera is a contributor in this anthology)

Here are some other links of interest which Luis has kindly provided for readers:

Heath Lowrance’s: psychonoir.blogspot.com/

K. A. Laity’s: http://katelaity.wordpress.com/

Paul D. Brazill’s: http://pdbrazill.blogspot.com.au/

Julia Madeleine’s: http://juliamadeleine.com/

5 thoughts on “Interview with author Luis Vera

Leave a Reply

