Interview with author Lynette Ferreira

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Lynette Ferreira, author of the short stories ONLY IN MY MEMORIES, WOULD YOU REMEMBER ME and THE BEGINNING OF A LIFE MISUNDERSTOOD, amongst her many works, and welcome her to my blog.

LYNETTE FERREIRA, author photograph

Welcome Lynette!

Thank you for inviting me.

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: The beginning of My Recycled Soul is based on true life experiences. We moved from Ireland to South Africa in 2008, and my daughter was so sad and despondent to leave her life behind. Although the story started off completely different, I think it was always meant to start with her.

Q: Have you been writing for a long time?

A: It depends what you mean with writing. For many, many years I wrote proposals, legal documents and contracts, advertising and promotional marketing. I always wanted to write stories though, but never had the time to sit down and let my imagination run away with me for more than 1,000 words. I have always had a vivid imagination and I am very interested in reincarnation and what happens to us when we leave here. I wrote my first fiction novel in 2008.

Q: You have a prolific output of both short stories, and longer works. Do you have a writing program which works for you?

A: I do not have any structured writing program. I usually get an idea and I run it by my husband, who does not have a creative bone in his body, but he is the one who keeps me grounded. Sometimes he will even say something that makes my imagination run even wilder. I let the idea mull around in my head until I have the perfect beginning. I always start a story with one person, and then this person will take the story where it is supposed to go. It is weird how it works, but it is a process I enjoy.

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: When I was younger I enjoyed reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz, and I think I read all their books up until about six years ago. This will seem weird, but now that I am older I love reading Young Adult books and I enjoy them thoroughly. There is not any specific genre that I prefer above any other.

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: Some of my favourite Young Adult books include the Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer, Ordinary Beauty by Laura Wiess, Inside Out by Maria Snyder, The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Daletti.

Q: Many of your books exhibit an acute awareness of social issues and problems which affect society, all explored within an entertaining, and stimulating framework. Have you been interested in these issues for some time now, or, is it something which has been ignited at a certain stage in your life?

A: Sometimes I think of myself as a sponge of other people’s emotions – not everybody though. I could walk past many homeless people begging for money or something to eat, but then there will be one that I will feel a connection with. Sometimes I will cry for days thinking about that one particular person, and wish that I had the ways and means to help them. I grew up in a happy home with a mom and a dad. I was loved and I never contemplated suicide. My flash fiction and short stories really just pop into my head and won’t leave until I write the story. Even I did not know that The Dark, Dark House would end the way it did. It was supposed to be a spooky story about a dark, dark house, but then it wasn’t.

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, from either the past, or still on the air?

A: When I was young, we only had one television channel here in South Africa and everybody had to watch the same thing. I miss those days, when you went to school the next day and everybody was talking about MacGyver, or when you went to the public pool and everybody would be trying to imitate The Man from Atlantis. At the moment I absolutely love Vampire Diaries. I never miss Supernatural. I also enjoy watching The Voice and Survivor.

Q: Do you have any hobbies you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A: Besides reading, my other hobby is knitting. I like to sit and knit while I watch television. If I did not knit, I would be biting my nails, so it is better to knit and also it keeps my family warm in the winter months.

Q: Do you have any other writing projects which you would like to mention?

A: I am still working on my novel New Dawn. It was meant to be a spoof from Twilight, but then I got cold feet and unpublished it, while it is being read by an entire Grade 7 class of girls. I am busy re-writing When we Love from first person present tense to third person past tense, and this has proven to be very, very hard work. Also I am working with an awesome editor on my soon to be published story, My Life Hereafter. I also have an awesome idea, which I haven’t started yet. I know the basic gist of it, but I do not know how it should start, so I am still formulating it in my mind.

I am certain that you will join me in thanking Lynette today for her time, and that we look forward to reading more of her works in the future. If you wish to contact Lynette, she is available on:

*Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/LynetteFerreira

*Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4088448.Lynette_Ferreira

*Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/LynetteFerreira

*Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/RecycledSouls

http://www.facebook.com/WilliamVampirePirate

*Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Lynette-Ferreira/e/B002XZVFSQ/ref=sr_tc_ep?qid=1339075533

*Her website is: http://bit.ly/ReadwithLynetteFerreira

*Blog: http://bit.ly/LynetteFerreira_Blog

Lynette’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

ONLY IN MY MEMORIES by Lynette Ferreira

WOULD YOU REMEMBER ME by Lynette Ferreira

THE BEGINNING OF A LIFE MISUNDERSTOOD by Lynette Ferreira

ALL OVER AGAIN by Lynette Ferreira

THE DARK, DARK HOUSE by Lynette Ferreira

 

7 thoughts on “Interview with author Lynette Ferreira

Leave a Reply

