Interview with author Christopher Kneipp

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Christopher Kneipp, author of the novels PARALLEL (BOOK ONE IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE), THE IMMORTAL DARKESS (BOOK TWO IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE), and short stories CROSSCUT, and MAX’S EYES, and welcome him to my blog.

CHRISTOPHER KNEIPP, Author Photograph

CHRISTOPHER KNEIPP, Author Photograph

Welcome Christopher!

*

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: I guess the short answer to that question is all my life experiences inspired me to write. I’ve always loved reading but it is looking at the things around me through a slightly warped lens that make me constantly ask the question, “What if?”

*

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A: I remember coming home from school at age 7 and telling my mother that I had to write stories for homework. Then setting the alarm for 3 AM to wake up and do my real homework. I did stop writing for a few years in my thirties, but the story ideas wouldn’t let me alone. I guess it’s just a part of who I am.

*

Q: Do you have a writing program which works for you?

A: I find that night time is the best time for me to write, something about the quiet when everyone else has gone to bed is the time I’m most inspired. The regime is to write at night, (All night sometimes) and then edit and polish during the day. I don’t set word goals, as some scenes flow more easily than others, but the aim is to be always moving forward. It’s better to produce a good sentence that takes an hour, than rush to meet a preset word count and hate the end result. Having said that, it’s okay to cut something if it’s not working and start again.

*

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: I’ve always loved Science Fiction and Fantasy, especially books that leave you thinking long after the last page is turned.

*

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: That’s a road that leads to a very big list. Early on I was influenced by Tolkien and his peers. Later I enjoyed the writers who liked to mess with the genre, like Douglas Adams and Piers Anthony. They taught me that your characters can retain their sense of humour, no matter how weird things might get. There is also a thriving writing community in Australia, particularly women like Marianne De Piers and Rowena Cory Daniells, (among many others) who are not only fabulous writers but very supportive of other writers. Their advice and input, inspires me every day.

*

Q: Your stories, from my reading experience, feature a sympathetic central character who is either thrust into a world, and experiences, for which they are unprepared, as in CROSSCUT, or, brings about an aura of peace and calm to the narrative world, as does the protagonist of MAX’S EYES. Has your interest in fantasy and science fiction themes been something which you have had for a while, or something which blossomed at a certain time in your life?

A: I love the creative freedom and world building of speculative fiction. Life seldom goes the way we plan, and it’s rare that we can get by totally on our own. Even in a fantasy world, the rule still applies; No one can do it all. I came to this conclusion early on, probably when my father abandoned us while I was a preteen. On his own, his life went downhill, while my mother kept the rest of us together. An author’s life will always bleed into their writing, so it’s best just to embrace it.

*

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, either from the past, or still on the air?

A: Too many to name, but I like shows that break the mould. Dr Who, Dexter, Star Trek and lately Person of Interest and Game of Thrones.

*

Q: Do you have any hobbies you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A: I love nature, and hike or camp whenever I can. I try to bushwalk each day. If I don’t spend time in a place devoid of concrete and asphalt regularly, I go a little stir crazy.

*

Q: Do you have any other writing projects that you would like to mention?

A: Right now I am writing the third and final book of The Kasdtien Cycle and hope to have it ready later this year. Beyond that… You’ll just have to wait and see.

*

I am certain that you will join me in thanking Christopher today for his time, and that we look forward to reading more of his work in the future. If you wish to contact Christopher, he is available on:

*Twitter: https://twitter.com/cmkneipp

*Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5447259.Christopher_Kneipp

*Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorchriskneipp

*Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Christopher%20Kneipp&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

*Blog: http://parttimelunatic.wordpress.com/

-Christopher’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

PARALLEL (BOOK ONE IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE) by Christopher Kneipp

PARALLEL (BOOK ONE IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE) by Christopher Kneipp

THE IMMORTAL DARKNESS (BOOK TWO IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE) by Christopher Kneipp

THE IMMORTAL DARKNESS (BOOK TWO IN THE KASDTIEN CYCLE) by Christopher Kneipp

CROSSCUT by Christopher Kneipp

CROSSCUT by Christopher Kneipp

MAX'S EYES by Christopher Kneipp

MAX’S EYES by Christopher Kneipp

One thought on “Interview with author Christopher Kneipp

Leave a Reply

