Interview with author Mackenzie Brown

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Mackenzie Brown, author of the novels THE BOOK OF SOULS, LOST BOYS, and THE SHIFTING, and welcome him to my blog.

Mackenzie Brown, author photograph

Mackenzie Brown, author photograph

Welcome Mackenzie!

*

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: I was always interested in sketching and writing when I was a child. But my Grandfather, Angus Mackenzie Brown; decided he’d tell me about his exploits during the war (even though he never mentioned any of it to his own children) and as a personal hero of mine, an appetite to write won out in the end to the detriment of my drawing. A few years ago I wrote a novel about my Grandparents early lives and I hope to rewrite it for release before the end of this year.

*

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A: I’ve been writing stories as far back as I can recall, but I’ve been serious about the craft for about 15 years, but I’ve only been published for just over two years.

 *

Q: Each writer works in different ways with reference to writing. Do you have a writing program/schedule that works for you?

A: I have a system that works for me.  A rough draft of each chapter and then it is all about getting the first draft done, even if I’m not entirely happy with huge chunks of it. I work on the basis the first draft is only a roughly hewn lump of clay.  Rewriting is when the real work starts.  In terms of when I write I’m relatively flexible. Because of the way I work I don’t look for the perfect phrase every time I put words down, I look for a flow of sorts and feed off it and it generally works well for me. That way I can give others my time and will always fit my scribbling in around that. (Keeps the family happy that way.)

 *

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: I am fond of thrillers, but do read almost any genre. If I think a work is well written I’ll stick with it. It comes from the perspective that writers need a reader to invest more than the time it takes to read the first few pages.

 *

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: Peter Straub, John D MacDonald, Stephen King, Howard Spring and many others.

 *

Q: After reading THE BOOK OF SOULS, I was struck by the portrayal of the book’s characters, especially Imelda Stone and Tony Pollock, to name just a few examples, and, while they possessed special powers, they were depicted as real people who were not always in control of these, which made them all the more easy to relate to for readers. What inspired you to write this book, and explore the fantasy/paranormal book genre in this story?

A: This book was originally devised for my daughters about 7 years ago. The idea was to write something supernatural for girls. It was never intended to become a novel. It began as a series of bed time stories. In terms of the characters you mention, suppose I’m fascinated by characters (and people in general) who do not realise what they’re actually capable of . I do plan to write a follow up to The Book of Souls and have an idea cooking away in the recesses of my brain.

 *

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, either from the past, or still on the air?

A: These days I tend to watch movies and avoid getting involved in long drawn out series. But I’ve been a fan of; The Rockford Files, The sopranos and ER among others in the past.

*

Q: Are there any hobbies you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A: I’m an avid jogger and it helps me keep mind and body together. I run about ten miles each week. I like Football (or soccer) and follow Everton FC in the English Premier league. I also like most sports, but I’m always reading. I like to split my reading between indie and favourite authors.

 *

Q: Have you written any short stories?

A: I cut my teeth on short stories. I was invited to include a story in three volumes designed to hi-light emerging talent and in each case I dusted off an old story and brought each up to snuff. They are; Out of Darkness and my story is called Creeping Jesus, concerning two homeless people who are haunted by a ghostly apparition.

The next is A Festive Feast and my story Pocket Money, charts the rags-to-riches story of a single parent and her child who receive an unexpected festive gift.

The third is; Love is in the Air and my story is The Sweet Coupons. Set during the Second World War it  is the story of two brothers who face a delicious dilemma.

 *

Q: Do you have any other writing projects, or new/upcoming releases, that you would like to mention?

A: Next month I’ll be releasing part one, of a 5 part series of detective stories set in war torn 1940 Liverpool. The central character Vic Prince explains his ancestor was brought to Liverpool on the last ever slave ship and his links to his African origins often come up in the stories.  Each short novel will contain ten chapters and the first episode is called PRINCE OF THE CITY: The Cat’s Whiskers. This will be followed by the second part – Nine Lives – (already one third of the way through) and the three final instalments will be release early next year. As I also alluded to, I hope to have Annie’s War – a book charting the early lives of my Grandparents set between 1914 and 1945 – released before the end of the year. I also plan to complete the second part of The Shifting trilogy next year – The Burning  – and start work on a sequel to Lost Boys.

 *

I am certain you will join me in thanking Mackenzie today for his time, and that we look forward to reading more of his works in the future. If you wish to contact Mackenzie, he is available on:

*Twitter: @mackbrownbooks

*Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6434456.Mackenzie_Brown

*Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MackBrownBooks

*Amazon.com:

Lost Boys: viewBook.at/B00BUVICVW 

The Book of Souls: viewBook.at/TheBookOfSoulsAnImeldaStoneAdventure 

The Shifting: viewBook.at/TheShiftingTheShiftingTrilogy 

*Mackenzie’s website: http://mackbrown.weebly.com/

*Mackenzie’s Blog: http://mackenzie-brown.tumblr.com/

*LinkedIn http://www.linkedin.com/pub/mackenzie-brown/48/579/72b

*Klout  http://klout.com/#/mackbrownbooks

*Pinterest http://pinterest.com/mackbrownbooks/

*About Me http://about.me/mackenzie.brown

Mackenzie’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

LOST BOYS by Mackenzie Brown

LOST BOYS by Mackenzie Brown

THE BOOK OF SOULS by Mackenzie Brown

THE BOOK OF SOULS by Mackenzie Brown

THE SHIFTING by Mackenzie Brown

THE SHIFTING by Mackenzie Brown

And Mackenzie’s upcoming release, PRINCE OF THE CITY: The Cat’s Whiskers:

PRINCE OF THE CITY: The Cat's Whiskers by Mackenzie Brown

PRINCE OF THE CITY: The Cat’s Whiskers by Mackenzie Brown

Leave a Reply

