Interview with author Charlie Nitric

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Charlie Nitric, author of short story A MOTHER WHISPERS GOODNIGHT, and comic novel LOL, and welcome him to my blog.

Charlie Nitric, author photograph

Charlie Nitric, author photograph

Welcome Charlie!

*

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: Many of the stories I write are based on real life experiences. “A Mother Whispers Goodnight” is a dramatic story that is very much a part of my first few days in life. Although I sometimes write straight fiction, many of the hilarious stories in my book “LOL” are based on situations that happened to me.

 *

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A: I’ve been writing since I was in grade school where I became a note passing enthusiast. Written on those notes were cartoons that turned into short, funny skits as each note was returned. I kept building on the previous message and went wherever my mind felt was funny at the time. At home, instead of doing my homework, I wrote out stories from a scenario that happened in a note exchange or another hilarious situation that occurred in my life.

 *

Q: Each writer works in different ways with reference to writing. Do you have a writing program/schedule that works for you?

A: I don’t have a set time of the day that I write, but I do write almost daily.  I tend to rely on the inspirational clock within me that is often triggered by a memory. I’m an observational guy. My inspiration is also triggered by something someone says or does. The characters I witness wherever I go are hilarious.

 *

Q: Do you have any favourite book genres which you love to read?

A: I enjoy historical, mystery, adventure, and thriller works. I also enjoy autobiographical accounts about an interesting person’s life.

 *

Q: Are there any favourite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: My favourite author by far, is Mark Twain. I appreciate how he often wrote in the vernacular used by the characters and regions of the times. Personally, I believe the very best way to convey a message is to speak (write) in simplistic, common language. Your message is more easily comprehended by the receiver.

*

Q: From my experience of your books, you are a versatile writer who successfully writes dramatic works, but also, at the other end of the spectrum, comic stories. Do you have a leaning towards either genre, or, prefer to write both?

A: I have a vast arsenal of fiction and non-fiction stories to tell. They span everything from romance to horror, drama to thrillers, and many stops in between. Hundreds of these stories are from my past, but each day new stories are presented to me through observation of the world around me. Situational experiences can be truly hilarious in their own unique way. The funny things that I’ve witnessed or was a part of, is amazing. Sometimes too, it can be quite comical to exaggerate, poking fun at the human condition. My favourite to write is real life comedy.

 *

Q: Do you have any favourite TV shows, either from the past, or still on the air?

A: I like the TV shows “The Jeffersons”, “The Andy Griffith Show”, “That 70s Show,” and historical documentaries.

*

Q: Are there any hobbies you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A: I like to workout at the gym lifting weights and running. This keeps me busy a few hours each day. I also enjoy standing at the bank of the Fox River late on a cool foggy night. I go there to yodel and eat strudel. The rush I experience when I bellow my lungs out across the swift rushing waters is quite exhilarating. It’s better than having a coyote surprise attack you when exiting the outhouse.

 *

Q: Do you have any other writing projects, or new/upcoming releases, that you would like to mention?

A: I have been working on short stories and a sitcom. I’ve also been working on drawings to incorporate into my stories. An example of this work would be my most recent post a few days ago on my blog. At this time, I have not put together anything I will be publishing in this fall.

 *

I am certain you will join me in thanking Charlie today for his time, and that we look forward to reading more of his works in the future. If you wish to contact Charlie, he is available on:

*Twitter: @CharlieNitric @BrianBohls

*Goodreads

*Facebook page

*Amazon.com

*Charlie’s website

*Charlie’s Blog

Charlie’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

LOL by Charlie Nitric

LOL by Charlie Nitric

A MOTHER WHISPERS GOODNIGHT by Charlie Nitric

A MOTHER WHISPERS GOODNIGHT by Charlie Nitric

2 thoughts on “Interview with author Charlie Nitric

Leave a Reply

