Interview with author Roy Huff

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Roy Huff, author of the science fiction fantasy novels EVERVILLE: THE FIRST PILLAR and EVERVILLE: THE CITY OF WORMS, and welcome him to my blog.

Roy Huff, author photograph

Roy Huff, author photograph

Welcome Roy!

*

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: The first book in the series started out as a college paper. My education has also given me expertise in technical writing, but my like for scifi and fantasy in entertainment has encouraged me to branch out into fiction.

*

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A: I’ve been writing fiction for about 2 and a half years now, but I’ve written non fiction for about seven years.

*

Q: Each writer works in different ways with reference to writing. Do you have a writing program/schedule that works for you?

A: I usually write in big blocks when I have free time, but I do write a page or two from time to time in between the big blogs. Other than that, I just write with an overall idea in mind until I am about 2/3rds of the way done with the book.

                                                                                                                          *

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: Scifi fantasy!

*

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A:  J.K Rowling, George Orwell, Tolkien, C.S. Lewis.

*

Q: From my reading experience of EVERVILLE: THE FIRST PILLAR, on the surface, it may appear to be a novel dealing with good and evil, with plenty of spectacle, but, upon further inspection, also featured the theme of a young man’s coming of age, and
apart from this, dealt with the universal themes of people in conflict for supremacy, territories, or other reasons. What inspired you to write this novel, and treat these themes in such an original manner?

A: The book was initially inspired by a college paper for a creative writing assignment. Aside from that, I just let the words flow from my fingers. Inspiration for the details of the plot must come from my memories and subconscious.

*

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, either from the past, or still on the air?

A: I am a hardcore Trekkie. I have seen every episode of every season of every series many times over. I also loved Fringe, Sliders, The X Files, Quantum Leap, Do Over, Eureka, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and numerous others.

*

Q: Are there any hobbies you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A:  I love Karaoke, movies, hiking, traveling, chess, good food and conversation.

*

Q: Have you written any short stories?

A: None that I have finished.

*

Q: Do you have any other writing projects, or new/upcoming releases, that you would like to mention?

A:  I have several, but I don’t want to give away too many details. I will say time travel will be the main theme in an upcoming and ongoing writing series that I hope to pitch to the small screen. I also plan on doing a one off futuristic scifi movie in addition to the planned books in the Everville series.

*

I am certain you will join me in thanking Roy today for his time, and that we look forward to reading more of his works in the future. If you wish to contact Roy, he is available on:

*Twitter: @evervillefans  @evervilleseries

*Goodreads

*Facebook page

*Amazon.com

*Roy’s website

*Roy’s Blog

– Roy’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

EVERVILLE: THE FIRST PILLAR by Roy Huff

EVERVILLE: THE FIRST PILLAR by Roy Huff

EVERVILLE: THE CITY OF WORMS by Roy Huff

EVERVILLE: THE CITY OF WORMS by Roy Huff

One thought on “Interview with author Roy Huff

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: author Roy Huff introduces readers to his flash fiction piece THE KNOB | Marcia's Book Talk

Leave a Reply

