Interview with author Jenny Burnley

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Jenny Burnley, author of science fiction short story ZENZORIS RETURNS, and welcome her to my blog.

Jenny Burnley, author identification photo

Jenny Burnley, author identification photo

Welcome Jenny!

Thank you for inviting me, Marcia. Wow, what a comfortable chair this is and fabulous coffee and cookies. You have made me feel SO much at home…

*

Q: For how long have you been writing?

A:  I have been writing since I was a child (and that’s a VERY long time) but I published for the first time as Jenny Burnley in 2013.

*

Q: Have any life experiences inspired you to write your books?

A: With two brothers, a husband and two sons in my life, who all watched scifi TV and movies endlessly; Star Wars, Doctor Who, Star Trek, you name it, I think I was dragged kicking and screaming to scifi initially, but if I was honest, I really love the genre now. That combined with my life-long interest in astronomy definitely inspired me to write the Sophie Radcliffe scifi series.

*

Q: Each writer works in different ways with reference to writing. Do you have a writing program/schedule that works for you?

A:  As I have a very busy working life in academia, my writing time is sadly very limited, but I am the kind of person who gets in the writing mood and then just can’t stop. If I have a poem or story in my head, I will write into the night and not want to stop. Of course I always regret it the next morning when the alarm goes off at 6.30 a.m.

 *

Q: Do you have any favorite book genres which you love to read?

A: I am an avid reader and love all kinds of books, including historical novels, thrillers, fantasy and biographies. I really don’t have a favourite, but enjoy interesting books of any genre, depending on my mood.

*

Q: Are there any favorite books and authors who have been influential upon you and your writing?

A: I was brought up on classics such as Wuthering Heights, Black Beauty, Pride and Prejudice and Little Women. I love Tolkein, some Shakespeare and GK Chesterton. I like to laugh, so books by amusing authors like Tom Sharpe, Bill Bryson and James Herriot are past favourites. These days I often read books by Indie authors, including those written by my many author friends on Twitter, such as Lynette Creswell, Judith Barrow, Rose Edmunds, Christina James, Val Poore and of course yourself Marcia! (What a little creep I am!)

 *

Q: I greatly enjoyed reading ZENZORIS RETURNS, and liked the characterization of agent Sophie Radcliffe, the science fiction themes and motifs, and how the wry humor throughout added fun and spice to the narrative. What inspired you to write this story?

A: Thank you Marcia. I lived in Texas for a few years, the home of the Johnson Space Center, which was a great influence on me. I love the idea that there are other life-forms in the universe and like to imagine how they might look, behave, communicate or live their lives. Sophie Radcliffe is a strong, Houston gal, whose fruity language I would never dare use! I guess she must be my alter ego; the woman I would really like to be but chose a path in life that prevents me from being that way. (Hang on, this is like talking to a shrink…)

 *

Q: Do you have any favorite TV shows, either from the past, or currently on the air?

A: I used to love watching Frasier and Friends with my daughter – such a joy after all that scifi, football and cricket inflicted on me by the boys in my life. I don’t have much time for TV these days, but when I do, I like to watch historical dramas such as Downton Abbey or Mr. Selfridge or documentaries about animals.

 *

Q: Are there any hobbies or pastimes you like to participate in when you have spare time?

A:  I love reading, walking, art, music and singing in a Rock Choir. I go to the art galleries and theatres in London as often as I can. I play the piano and find that to be hugely stress-busting (I don’t think the neighbours agree..hee hee)

*

Q: You have successfully written in the science fiction genre. Would you like to write stories in any other genres?

A: My over-riding writing passion is poetry. Perhaps I will publish some of my poems one day. I also love historical thrillers, so I am tempted to go there too. For now though, I am concentrating on finishing the Sophie Radcliffe Series.

*

Q: Are you left-handed, or right-handed? Being a left-hander, it is interesting to see how many writers are either one or the other, or ambidextrous.

A:  I am right-handed and am absolutely hopeless with my left hand when it comes to things like using a key to open a door or pulling those cords for opening/closing blinds etc. –  strange for a pianist but true.

*

Q: Do you have any other writing projects, or new/upcoming releases, that you would like to mention to readers?

A:  My next story in the Sophie Radcliffe series has had a bit of a setback. Without giving too much away, it is largely set in Egypt and features a Goddess whose name now has terrible political connotations, so I am doing a major rewrite, but hopefully I will publish later this year.

Thank you for allowing me to visit you, Marcia. My, those cookies were delicious..mmm

You’re welcome Jenny, it’s a pleasure.

*

*I am certain you will join me in thanking Jenny today for her time, and that we look forward to reading more of her works in the future. If you wish to contact Jenny, she is available on:

*Twitter

*Goodreads

*Facebook page

*ZENZORIS RETURNS on Amazon.co.uk

*ZENZORIS RETURNS on Amazon.com

*Jenny’s website

*Jenny’s Blog

– Jenny’s books can be accessed by clicking on the book covers below:

ZENZORIS RETURNS by Jenny Burnley

 

 

5 thoughts on “Interview with author Jenny Burnley

  1. Always interesting to read more about the writers I see on Twitter! High fives as far as Bill Bryson is concerned 🙂 Nice chat, ladies.

  2. Thank you so much Terry, I’m glad you liked Jenny’s interview. I always love bringing these to readers, and get a thrill with each one!

Leave a Reply

